top of page

Restoration

Today, I was reminded of a dresser my dad purchased when I was 12 years old. I needed one, and my dad got what he could find and afford. At least, that’s what my preteen mind reasoned. In my mind, it was a heavily painted dresser with a crooked mirror that would “do” until something better could be found. I couldn’t have been further from the truth.

When we got home, the dresser went into the garage instead of my bedroom. That very afternoon, my dad coated the dresser with paint stripper and began the restoration process. I observed my dad as he painstakingly repaired the dresser and carefully removed multiple layers of old paint. Some paint came off easily while other layers required more stripper and effort. I remember the delight on his face when he discovered the dresser was made of tiger maple.

As the project progressed, ornate woodwork began to proclaim the skill of the dresser’s creator. My dad scraped, sanded, and picked until he removed every vestige of the paint and dirt that had defaced the creator’s artisanship. Finally, my dad prepared the dresser to receive a finish that would protect it from further damage and complement its natural beauty. I saw an ugly dresser; nevertheless, my dad envisioned a treasure. While I judgmentally looked on the surface, my Dad lovingly saw what was underneath.

You and I are a lot like that dresser: Each one of us is created in the beautiful image of God. We are each a handcrafted, unique work of art, a creative expression of the Father meant to bring glory and praise to our creator.

Sadly, sin has vandalized and defaced God’s handiwork. Our own sin, the effects of others’ sins on us, and the fallen state of humanity have combined to make our created beauty, value, and purpose nearly unrecognizable; however, God sees through all those layers of sin, hurt, guilt, and shame to his original craftsmanship. He sees the masterpiece that he proudly affirmed as “very good” in the beginning.

When Jesus looks at you and at me, he sees a treasure: We are each one more valuable than the combined wealth of all the oil-rich princes of the Middle East and the entire holdings of the De Beers diamond cartel. How mistaken we are to think of ourselves as worthless or insignificant.

What if, instead, we learned to see past the layers of blemish and defect like God does and started thinking of ourselves as his treasures, each person a beautiful work in progress? What would happen if, right now, you and I decided to cooperate with God’s restoring grace and wholeheartedly embraced the journey toward the wholeness and beauty that were his original intent? Though it could be uncomfortable at times, God will never force you or me to travel more quickly than we are able; moreover, God has promised that, once we consent to the journey, he will be with us every step of the way to protect us and see us through to completion.

bottom of page